Home Articles Gaia Minute Poetry

Akashic Records


There is a great curiousity to know about the past lives in many people. They expend great time, effort and money to explore them.


However, this curious probing into past lives is totally unnecessary. Indeed it is a natural protection from reliving past trauma or becoming infatuated more with our past lives than our present life that the inner recesses of the muladhara memory chakra are not easily accessed.

The fact is that as we exist now is nothing but a sum total of all our past lives. In our present moment, our mind and body state is the cumulative result of the entire spectrum of our past lives. No matter how great the intellectual knowing of the two key principles of Reincarnation and Laws of Karma be, it is how we currently live that positively shapes karma and unfolds us spiritually. In metaphysics, karma is the law that states that every mental, emotional and physical act, no matter how insignificant, is projected out into the psychic mind substance and eventually returns to the individual with equal impact. Knowing the laws, we are responsible to resolve blossoming karmas from past lives and create karma that, projected into the future, will advance, not hinder, us.


The Akashic memory in our higher chakras faithfully records the soul's impressions during its series of earthly lives, and in the worlds in-between earthly physical existences.


Ancient yogis, assigned three categories to karma. The first is sanchita, the sum total of past karma yet to be resolved. The second category is prarabdha, that portion of sanchita karma being experienced in the present life. Kriyamana, the third type, is karma you are presently creating. We find a very inspiring verse in Bhagwad Gita which tells us to understand the very nature of Karma as follows:


Karmano hyapi boddhavyam boddhavyam cha vikarmanah
akarmanashcha boddhavyam gahana karmano gatih
Bhagwad Gita 4:17

(The truth about action must be known and the truth about forbidden action must also be known; even so the truth about inaction must be known; for mysterious is the nature of action)


It must be understood that our past negative karma can be altered into a smoother, easier state through through dharma and sadhana. That is the key of karmic wisdom. Live religiously well and you will create positive karma for the future and soften negative karma of the past.


These karmic records are generally referred to by the term Akashic Records. The Akashic Records constitute the only reliable history of the world. They are also referred to as the memory of nature, the true Karmic Records, or the Book of the Lipika.


However, Akashic Records are much more more than mere Karmic Records. These records exist at several levels, the lowest being the Karmic Records which can be partially accessed through training.

To access higher level records, one has to "purify" one's soul by cleansing in "Akaash Ganga" (a cosmic river). Once purified, a cosmic guide would appear, who would then help to access the higher level records. These are in highly encrypted form, and usually they turn into "light energies" which are absorbed by the soul. Subsequent assimilation of this immense information might take several earth-years, and is a slow process.


Akashic Records in Hindu Mythology


According to Hindu Mythology "Chitra Gupta" keeps the Akashic Records.

Chitra guptam mahaa praajnam lekhaneepatra dhaarinam;
Chitra-ratnaambara-dhaararn madhyastham sarvadehinaam.

(The Chitra Guptas, who are endowed with great intelligence and copious memory, keep records and preserves on leaves with pencil, the memory of every act of the souls. Wearing jewels of precious stones, they mediate as umpire between all souls that are embodied.)


The terms chitra and gupta are highly evocative. "Chitra" means pictures, and "gupta" means hidden (coded/encrypte). Together they refer to the picturized and esoteric records of memory. Even though the recording angels (The Chitra Guptas) are symbolized with pencil and leaves for keeping the records of souls, their very name implies that the records are kept in the form of pictures. Not just still photographs, but a living, cinematograpic record.

Accesing and interpreting Akashic Records accurately

Much has been discussed about accessing and interpreting these records. We find references of the seven Astral plane model. Some indicate the akashic records are similar to a Cosmic or collective consciousness. The records have been referred to by different names including the Cosmic Mind, the Universal Mind, the collective unconscious, or the collective subconscious. Others think the Akashic records make clairvoyance and psychic perception possible. Different people, in different times, in different ways, to different degrees have been able to access the Akashic Records located in "Subconscious Mind."


While it IS possible to get "glimpses" using various techniques, a complete understanding and interpretation of the records requires a very high degree of spiritual evolution. Here is what Ancient Hindu Scripture has to say about knowing and understanding Akashic Records:

I quote from Prasña Upanishad - Fourth Question, Verses 6 - 11

When the jiva is overcome by light he sees no dreams; at that time, in this body, arises this happiness. As a bird goes to a tree to roost, even so, O friend, all the following rests in the Supreme Atman:

    1. Earth and its subtle counterpart
    2. Water and its subtle counterpart
    3. Fire and its subtle counterpart
    4. Air and its subtle counterpart
    5. Akasa and its subtle counterpart
    6. The eye and what can be seen
    7. The ear and what can be heard
    8. The nose and what can be smelt
    9. The taste and what can be tasted
    10. The skin and what can be touched
    11. The organ of speech and what can be spoken
    12. The hands and what can be grasped
    13. The organ of generation and what can be enjoyed
    14. The organ of excretion and what can be excreted
    15. The feet and what is their destination
    16. The mind (manas) and what can be thought
    17. The intellect (buddhi) and what can be comprehended
    18. The ego (ahamkara) and the object of egoism
    19. The memory (chitta) and its object
    20. Knowledge (tejah) and its object
    21. Prana and what is to be supported.

He, verily, it is who sees, feels, hears, smells, tastes, thinks and knows. He is the doer, the intelligent self, the purusha. He is established in the Highest, the imperishable Atman.


He who knows that imperishable Being, bright, without shadow, without body, without colour, verily attains the Supreme, the undecaying Purusha, O my good friend, he who knows Atman becomes all-knowing, becomes all. About it there is the following verse:


"He, O friend, who knows that imperishable Being wherein rests the intelligent self, together with the gods, the pranas and the elements, he becomes all-knowing and enters into all."

bottom menu